Shortlist for Digital DNA Awards 2020 Announced

The wait is finally over and we can now announce our final shortlist for the Digital DNA Awards 2020...

Over the past few months we have received a record number of entries to the 2020 Digital DNA Awards.  Breaking all previous records, the 2020 edition of the highly anticipated awards received in excess of 300 entries from 160+ companies, highlighting the strength and depth of the tech industry here in Northern Ireland. The first phase of the judging process is now complete and over 300 entries have been whittled down to a high-calibre short list featuring the very best technology businesses and people from right across Northern Ireland.

Winners of the 13 categories will be revealed at the biggest night for the Northern Irish tech industry, taking place at the ICC Belfast on Thursday 26th March,  2020. Tables are now and sale and can be purchased via the website or by contacting the team at Digital DNA HQ directly via engage@digitaldna.org.uk.

The Shortlist


App of the Year

Virtual Visit Tours AMAZE AR Portals

Hay Hay Banking App

STATSports Apex Coach Series

Sugar Rush Creative – Versus Arthritis | Arthritis Tracker for Teens

Dynamic Signal Dynamic Signal Mobile App

Liberty IT Quantum Next Gen Insurance Platform

Scaffold Digital TakeTen

STATSports Apex Athlete Series 2.0


Digital Innovation of the Year

Rakuten Blockchain Lab Rakuten Wallet (Cryptocurrency Exchange)

SaltDNA SaltDNA 

STATSports SMART Training Ground

PWC PwC Smart Credentials 

Velocity Worldwide Retail Digital Transformation Programme at CastleCourt Shopping Centre 

Power NI One Account Project

Danske Bank Danske Bank Automation Transformation

BT Value-Added Future Services for 5G-Enabled Edge Compute

Best Digital Marketing Campaign

Firefly Friends GoTo Shop USA Campaign

Belfast Giants CHL Campaign

Origin Digital & Hume Brophy  One Too Many Campaign

STATSports & Groundswell – Talent alone is not enough

Lighthouse Comms Belfast City Airport | NI Best Small Visitor Attraction

Dokoo Digital Write The Code The World Has Been Waiting For – Dokoo in conjunction with Acne London for Deloitte. 

Velocity Worldwide Retail Digital Transformation Programme at CastleCourt Shopping Centre 

Wilsons Auctions World’s First Crypto Currency Auction

eCommerce Project of the Year

Eyekiller Wood Floor Warehouse

Glaze Digital In Car Safety Centre 

Selazar Selazar

GCD Technologies Fane Valley Stores

Built For Growth Digital Ann’s Cottage 

CyberSource Flex Microform by Visa CyberSource Belfast

Groundswell Craigmore Online 

BT Digital Business Marketplace

Tech for Good Project of the Year


Children’s Law Centre Digital Solutions to Young People’s Legal Problems – REE Rights Responder

The Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment (CCEA) STEM in Minecraft: Vikings

Neon Talking Sense Project

School of Nursing and Midwifery, Queen’s University Belfast Neonatal Resuscitation Project Team

Origin Cancer Fund for Children

Civica Coding for Kids

Sugar Rush Creative Versus Arthritis


Young person of the Year

Johnny McFadden Bazaarvoice, Software Engineer

Laura Blacklock 3EN, Client Services Manager 

Cathal O’Neill BT Software Engineering Manager,Digital Commerce & BT Ireland Innovation Centre

Shauna Corr Datactics, Data Scientist 

Orlaith Kelly Version 1, Business Analyst

Amy Crockett Instil Software, Software Engineer

Robert Finn Signifyd, Software Engineer

Garry Irwin Unosquare, Delivery Management/ Site Lead

Developer of the Year

Annette McCullough Bazaarvoice, Staff Software Engineer

Zeki Kucuk-Kose Rakuten Blockchain Lab, Software Engineer

Niall Kelly Instil Software, Principal Software Engineer

Alan Moynagh STATSports, Senior Full Stack Developer 

Michael Miscampbell Dynamic Signal, Senior Mobile Developer

Christopher Moffett Signifyd, Software Engineer

Niamh Tohill Secure Broadcast, Head of Android 

Kevin Higgins Allstate NI, Technical Lead

Founder of the Year

Joe Boyle SaltDNA, CEO & Co-Founder

Francesca Morelli Airtight Influencers, Co-Founder

Alan Whitley Halo Technologies Europe Ltd, Managing Director

Lee Skillen Cloudsmith, Co-Founder & CTO

Leeann Monk-Özgül & Jennifer Neff Elemental Software, Co-Founders  & Co-CEO’s

Liam McEvoy SustainIQ, Co-Founder 

Carol Rossborough & Ailis McCaul ESTHER, Co-Founders

Jack Williams Selezar, Founder

Business Personality of the Year

Adrienne Hanna Right Revenue 

Stephen Morrow Options Technology

Peter Stewart No79 Design 

Lorna McAdoo Version 1

Gareth Burns Selazar

Samantha Kirk Dynamic Signal

Keith Lippert Allstate NI

Tara Simpson Instil Software


Best Large Tech Company of the Year

Virgin media


Rakuten Blockchain Lab




First Derivatives plc

Options Technology

Best Small tech of the Year


Locate a Locum

3EN Cloud

Instil Software



GCD Technologies

Elemental Software

Startup of the Year


Angoka Limited

Aligned Agency

Sonrai Analytics



Halo Technologies Europe Ltd

Alfi NI Ltd

Best Workplace of the Year

Options Technology


Allstate Northern Ireland




Liberty IT


Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Stay updated

Keep up to date with all the latest news from Digital DNA HQ